Roadfly.com         Roadfly Home | Features | Car Review Videos | Car Reviews | Cars For Sale | Used Car Parts Classifieds | Forum | Car Review Archives | Forum Archives Index

PDA

View Full Version : warm start problems

Stephen Hill
04-20-1999, 11:44 AM
I just put an 81 e21 back on the road after getting a hardware transfusion from a rusty parts car that had some fabulous mechanicals.<p>The car runs great. Starts easily when stone cold. <p>Here's the rub, it just won't warm start unless it cranks for 30 to 60 seconds straight. I don't want to wear out the starter.<p>The cold start injector is new and the temp switch is new as well.<p>One odd thing, during initial warm-up, the idle is text book. stays high until warm then drops down to @900rpm. But after diving for awhile, the idle goes up to @1400 and won't go down.<p>I'm a photographer and need to shut the car down and park frequently. Please help me so I can drive my Bimmer!

schem
04-22-1999, 11:44 PM
<i>: I just put an 81 e21 back on the road after getting a hardware transfusion from a rusty parts car that had some fabulous mechanicals.<p>: The car runs great. Starts easily when stone cold. <p>: Here's the rub, it just won't warm start unless it cranks for 30 to 60 seconds straight. I don't want to wear out the starter.<p>: The cold start injector is new and the temp switch is new as well.<p>: One odd thing, during initial warm-up, the idle is text book. stays high until warm then drops down to @900rpm. But after diving for awhile, the idle goes up to @1400 and won't go down.<p>: I'm a photographer and need to shut the car down and park frequently. Please help me so I can drive my Bimmer!<p></i>If the car has a zenith carburator in it, it could be flooding at idle, and when turned of after the car has warmed up.

Andrew
04-23-1999, 09:20 PM