Roadfly.com         Roadfly Home | Features | Car Review Videos | Car Reviews | Cars For Sale | Used Car Parts Classifieds | Forum | Car Review Archives | Forum Archives Index

PDA

View Full Version : Need advice;

Michael
07-06-2002, 12:51 PM
Hey guys and gals, I need some advice on removing light scratches and swirl marks. I have a PC orbital and a milwaukie rotary. The orbital just doesn't do the way I am using it. I have used the Rotary with a wool pad to remove one moderate scratch (with PPG DRX 65) but am not keen on using it over the entire car. I feel safe with the PC and sponge pads but again, not enough umph. I was hoping one of you experts could walk me through sequentially, with the products, type of pads, and which machine. (I assume the Rotary would be only for the first step). I am new to this particular board so please forgive if this has been hashed out many times before.

Michael
07-06-2002, 01:13 PM
I also accidently got some wax (meguires) on the leather trim around my door and have had a hard time removing it. I don't want to hurt the black leather finish so have stuck with soapy water. Most but not all came off. Any suggestions to get the last bit off??

Michael
07-08-2002, 10:45 AM

steve
07-08-2002, 06:34 PM
This is going to get pretty lengthy, I apologize in advance.

1) Perform all of the work in a cool, shaded area, free of any direct sunlight. Make sure the car is cool as well - heat from the sun, or from the engine compartment could cause streaking & will make the products extremely difficult to remove.

2) I'd suggest using your PC instead of the rotary - I've had excellent luck with removing scratches/swirls with my PC and in fact, rarely use my rotaries.

3) Wash the car as normal, using your favorite auto wash solution. Rinse it thoroughly, but don't dry it.