Roadfly.com         Roadfly Home | Features | Car Review Videos | Car Reviews | Cars For Sale | Used Car Parts Classifieds | Forum | Car Review Archives | Forum Archives Index



PDA



F1Player48
08-12-2002, 02:48 PM
oil change????

I had remember reading it was 5.5 something ...so i bought 6 bottles (6 liters/6.34 QT) thinking that would be sufficient and have a little left over in case i ever needed to top it off...(my engine has not burned any oil in the first 1200 miles)

SO how many liters do i put in the M3 engine?

gregwminmmoregon
08-12-2002, 02:51 PM

F1Player48
08-12-2002, 03:00 PM
is the question !!!

SterlingM3
08-12-2002, 03:04 PM
I jacked up the car and put it on jackstands all around just to be sure I drained as much oil out as possible. I put 5 liters in the engine itself and 1 liter in the oil filter repository. After warming the engine up to operating temp, waiting 1 minute, I check the oil and was exactly at the max mark.

F1Player48
08-12-2002, 03:05 PM

gregwminmmoregon
08-12-2002, 03:11 PM
accurate.

RS2
08-12-2002, 03:40 PM

Stl_Don
08-12-2002, 03:40 PM
it drains down into the engine as you pour it in. Next time you do a change watch it. You may be able to rim it, but come back in 2 minutes and it will be gone.
If your's doesn't, then a passage is blocked.

D<br><img src = "http://members.roadfly.com/stl_don/M3_sig.jpg">
November 16th, 2001 build <img src = "http://members.roadfly.com/stl_don/finger_cross.gif">

RS2
08-12-2002, 03:53 PM
because of the oil filter housing construction I guess. /RS2

Andy
08-12-2002, 05:58 PM

gusser
08-12-2002, 06:04 PM
My manual says 5.5 liters and that's exactly what mine takes.

StMedina
08-12-2002, 09:40 PM
max. Learned first hand, Andy. Changed my oil this weekend. Put 6.5 liters in. Oil level was on the "fins". Took out 1 liter, put the level right in between min and max. Put back .5 liters, right at the max mark. <br>


Roadfly Home | Car Reviews | Forum Archives Index