Roadfly.com         Roadfly Home | Features | Car Review Videos | Car Reviews | Cars For Sale | Used Car Parts Classifieds | Forum | Car Review Archives | Forum Archives Index

PDA

davidmillerm3
02-07-2003, 08:58 PM
I know everybody recommends the SSR competition wheels for the track but I just don't like the looks. period. Is anyone using their stock wheels with track tires for driving schools? If so, what tire brand/size are you running.
My idea would be to get AC Schnitzer type 3 for the street and use the stock rims (with track tires) at the track assuming there's a good track tire combo to help reduce the understeer - Any thoughts welcome!!! (FYI, I am an A group student, 20+ schools)
Thanks
David

kster
02-07-2003, 09:21 PM
I have the same problem, I want to get track wheels but don't like the SSR Comps. So for now, I've been running 245/255 F/R tires on the OEM 18s.

Are there any other (lightweight) 18x9.5 wheels available?

NASTY
02-07-2003, 09:23 PM

davidmillerm3
02-07-2003, 09:26 PM
I don't thinks so. Apparently the only ones with the correct offset are the SSRs. What tires are you using? Are you happy with the setup?

NASTY
02-07-2003, 09:30 PM

kster
02-07-2003, 09:36 PM
These are my only wheels so I'm running 245/255 F/R on S-02s. It's a big improvement over the OEM Continentals, with much less understeer. However there is still too much understeer and I also want wider tires in the rear to lessen the power on oversteer.

I know, Navid, who ran in the Open Track Challenge ran 285s all around on his M3.

Lincoln
02-07-2003, 10:12 PM
You don't like the look of a wheel that you are considering for track use, so you won't buy it??? It's just for the track and maybe the drive to and from...why care what it looks like??? Plus the SSR comp in 9.5" widths 35mm offset (spacer on the rear) gives you exactly what you want at the track and it's available in 3 finishes (the dark gray is the one to have since it helps draw the heat away from the hub).