+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 20 of 127
-
06-13-2005 05:34 PM #1
Anybody heard of Longwood Industries?
My M5 is listed for sale and I got a call from Longwood concerning an online ad they will run for me.
The cost is $89.99 and they offer a money back guarantee (less a $10 processing fee) if my car does not sell within 90 days.
I spent $110 to run a classified ad in the LA Times and got exactly zero phone calls in a week, so $90 seems pretty reasonable for 90 days of exposure and a guarantee.
Anybody got any thoughts?
Thanks!
-
-
06-13-2005 06:28 PM #2Registered Member
- Location
- Fort Worth, TX, United States
Member No: 13509
- Join Date
- Sep 2001
- Posts
- 4,031
- Rep Power
- 0
Run away
I got calls from all sorts of these advertise your car for you services whenever I sell a car. I tried one of these for my CLK55 in 2001 and got zero response from their ads. Car ended up selling from Autotrader within a few weeks for $5K over MSRP, the next car an 01 M3 sold thru the free classified here on Roadfly in 4 days for a very good price. I tried RF for the 02 M5 and got nothing but tirekickers, then I got serious and put it on Autotrader (the $100 ad with 12 pics) and asked a reasonable price ($52K)...it sold in 48 hours, this was 4 weeks ago.
You are only young once, but you can stay immature indefinitely! - Ogden Nash
-
06-17-2005 09:31 PM #3
-
06-20-2005 10:45 AM #4Registered Member
- Location
- Fort Worth, TX, United States
Member No: 13509
- Join Date
- Sep 2001
- Posts
- 4,031
- Rep Power
- 0
You're gonna laugh
My 99 Chevy truck :) I'm looking at used 911 cabs and Z8s right now. Will buy a cab as soon as I find the right one. I want a 997S Cab but I'm just not really hot on the idea of spending $100K on a car right now while I'm trying to find a house. If I don't find something soon I'll probably just order an '06 Boxster S and drive that for a few years.
You are only young once, but you can stay immature indefinitely! - Ogden Nash
-
07-10-2005 09:06 PM #5
-
07-11-2005 01:01 PM #6
Re: Anybody heard of Longwood Industries?
I still have not made a decision to work with them.
I have now gotten calls from about four of these services and I guess I just do not see what they will do for me that I cannot do myself.
Of course, Longwood has a guarantee (less $10) but I am not entirely clear on how I get the money back if my car is not sold.
In short, I do not believe it is a joke, but I am not totally sold on the potential effectiveness.
Hope this helps.
H
-
07-20-2005 01:34 PM #7Registered Member
- Location
- , IN, United States
Member No: 128882
- Join Date
- Jul 2005
- Posts
- 1
- Rep Power
- 0
Re: Anybody heard of Longwood Industries?
I recently recieved the same call from Longwood...did some searching and ran across their sites....
1. http://www.autohopper.com/
2. http://www.thebiglot.com/
not very impressive at all...I prefer AutoTrader...and the following quote I found is apparently from an individual that tried Longwood...
------------quote---------
Thebiglot.com aka Longwood Industries Inc. telemarketing rip-off! Roanoke Virginia *UPDATE ..thebiglot.com - Site now says Server is currently busy
Company
Thebiglot.com - Longwood Industries Inc.
Address:
The Big Lot! P.O. Box 1671
Roanoke Virginia 24008
U.S.A.
Phone Number:
800-430-1956
Fax:
Received a call from a person stating they saw my ad in a local newspaper of a vehicle I was selling and was told the local newspaper was not a place to sell a vehicle. (This call was picked up by my voice mail and saved) and was promised I would sell the vehicle fast and get the price I was asking.
I returned the call and asked to speak to the gentleman who left the message on my voice mail. I was told by the woman I spoke to that she could help me. I asked several questions concerning their company and told the woman I would check them out and get back with them as I was not ready to spend 89.95 to sell my vehicle.
I checked out the website www.biglot.com and looked at the vehicles listed on their site, specifically the vehicle I was selling. I decided that the site was legitimate and I liked the guarantee and placed an ad online and paid the $89.95.
In the first week I received only 1 email. It was from a scam artist wanting to send me a $7000.00 check and send him the difference of the price of the vehicle. This is the only email I have received as of 08/23/04
I decided to try lowering the price of the vehicle. There is a hit counter on the ad and I noticed that before I reduced the price the counter was at 35. After I lowered the price I noticed the counter went to 295 within 2 hours but still no email. I again lowered the price of the vehicle to a ridiculous price of $1,500 for a 4000.00 vehicle. The hit counter went to over 500 in under an hour and and still no email! I knew something was wrong. I decided to test the "Ask seller a question" link on the ad page. I filled out the form and hit the submit button. I received the following error:
We're sorry, there has been error sending your email to the customer. Please call our
Customer Service Dept at: 1-800-430-1965 ext.4
I called the customer service and was told they were not aware of an problem but they would look into it. I decided to follow up with an email to their technical support - web@independentsystems.com. I received an email stating:
This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
Delivery to the following recipients failed.
web@independentsystems.com
Link to my ad on www.thebiglot.com - http://www.thebiglot.com/ad_auto.asp?AI=270156&MK=Ford&MD=Taurus&PN=1&YL=19 98&AT=1&#
I tried asking questions on other ads placed on the site but got the same error. I am a sucker :(
Ken
NORTH PORT, Florida
U.S.A.
-
07-21-2005 01:49 AM #8
-
07-23-2005 12:09 AM #9
-
07-28-2005 11:24 AM #10
-
07-28-2005 03:55 PM #11
-
08-06-2005 07:04 PM #12
-
08-08-2005 04:10 PM #13
-
08-22-2005 09:20 PM #14
-
08-25-2005 06:07 PM #15
Re: Anybody heard of Longwood Industries?
They recently contacted me when I listed my Ford Explorer. I haven't called them to find out more... but I have searched the internet and came up with several companies... one IS a not for profit that helps developmentally disabled individuals find employment. Please let me know if you heard anything - OR - if you sold through them.
Thanks!
-
08-25-2005 06:13 PM #16
-
08-30-2005 06:42 PM #17
Re: Anybody heard of Longwood Industries?
I have been receiving calls from Phillip also about my Mustang. I looked online under the autohopper site. I thought it looked and sounded legit, they explained how you get your money back and I spent 50 in the local paper and never received a call. Has anyone done it through autohopper and had positive results?
-
09-01-2005 01:29 PM #18
Re: Anybody heard of Longwood Industries?
Hi I too have had a call from Philip trying to list my Firebird. I didn't list with them as I had the same problem with ABL (American Boat Listing)five years ago. I was trying to sell a boat and got talked into listing with ABL. When I submitted my listing it was posted incorrectly stating only one motor instead of two, missing various amenities,etc. I kept emailing or calling to get them to correct and they never did plus I never got my money back, so I think this Philip from Longwoods is the same type of scam.
-
09-03-2005 12:10 AM #19
-
09-07-2005 03:48 PM #20
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)



Reply With Quote

Bookmarks