+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Location
    New Haven, CT, United States
    Member No: 131360 DaveSimpson is an unknown quantity at this point DaveSimpson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Euro M6's top speed

    Watched a show about all the current M cars on Speed Channel yesterday and was blown away by the M6's speed. The car was at 194 mph and it could have reach 200+ if a X5 from the looks hadn't pull out in front of it. It's a shame that the versions that are coming to the US are governed to 155 mph. With that, it's a waste of the extra 100 horses that at the car disposal when one pushes the M-power button. Maybe one can import a Euro M6 through Canada? I must say that I was truly impressed by the power, but being an owner of an 850i, the looks of the car still irk me a bit.


  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 44878 dragon850 is an unknown quantity at this point dragon850's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    829
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: Euro M6's top speed

    hey Dave, you can buy Hamman software that removes the speed governer. No need to import. I have to agree on the looks, not my style but if you go with hamman or AC S. bodykit looks much better.

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Location
    Houston, TX, United States
    Member No: 108602 sachristman is an unknown quantity at this point sachristman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    379
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    BMW & others limit 155 mph everywhere?

    See link. Anyway, if you go above 155 mph, may need to get higher speed rated tires.

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Location
    , , Germany
    Member No: 37721 Ed_Healey is an unknown quantity at this point Ed_Healey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    8,727
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Apparently there are two limiters. Hartge manages

    to bypass both of them. There is a second one that cuts in at about 325km/h that most of the delimiting people miss. Also it seems that BMW moved the location of the limiter software recently according to a Hartge customer.

    And I am Ed. Have been for years.

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Location
    , , Germany
    Member No: 37721 Ed_Healey is an unknown quantity at this point Ed_Healey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    8,727
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Just to placate the Commies and Greens really.

    Sort of silly as the horsepower and torque war is well and fully on, and everyone delimits their cars anyway.

    Porsche are the only major German manufacturer not to limit their cars now, and BMw will sell delimited cars to qualified customers.

    To get a delimited CSL from the factory all you needed was a race licence.

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 141667 dhp is an unknown quantity at this point dhp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: Euro M6's top speed

    As an owner of the new M6,I am wondering if mine had the speed limiter removed at the factory or not. Not that I am admitting to anything, but it seems not to slow down at any speed.

+ Reply to Thread


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
1e2 Forum