+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Location
    Auckland, ,
    Member No: 159802 leeuqa is an unknown quantity at this point leeuqa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Instrument Cluster compatible ???

    Would anyone out there know if an instrument cluster from a '97 E38 725 would work in a '95 E38 740i even though the part numbers are different.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.


  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 150895 BigBimmer is an unknown quantity at this point BigBimmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    332
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Possibly, but we may need more information...

    BMW did use a different style of the instrument cluster in the early model years. What are the two part numbers in question? We can look in www.RealOEM.com to determine if the parts are correct for your car.

    However... even if the instrument cluster will connect and function, it will require dealer programming to be correct for your car. The instrument cluster stores the car's mileage, and if you replace the cluster, the car will illuminate the "tamper light" on the instrument cluster to show the mileage mismatch. Also, there may be dealer coding to properly configure the newer cluster for your car.
    2000 E38 750iL Highline Edition with 18" Style 118 Wheels and Runflats
    MKIV and 16:9 Navigation, TV, and Backup Camera
    New Gen Radio, Sirius, Aux Input for my iPod, Bluetooth, and E39 M5 Tire Pressure Monitor System

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Location
    Auckland, ,
    Member No: 159802 leeuqa is an unknown quantity at this point leeuqa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: Possibly, but we may need more information...

    Managed to get the part numbers from the wreckers.

    He has two available :-

    a. 6211 8364 005 (has removable box on back, like what I am after)

    and

    b. 6211 8387 063

    I tried searching realoem.com but couldn't find anything that matched the above two numbers :/

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 58142 ROYinGA is an unknown quantity at this point ROYinGA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,633
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    You do mean the 725 tds??


  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 58142 ROYinGA is an unknown quantity at this point ROYinGA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,633
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Those numbers are in the ETK along with many other

    ones as there is a lot of suppersession. I'm not sure what to say. There certainly is a coding issue with the IKE box.

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Location
    Auckland, ,
    Member No: 159802 leeuqa is an unknown quantity at this point leeuqa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: Those numbers are in the ETK... :/

    Hi there Roy, umm, without sounding like a complete idiot... your last post completely lost me... :/

    So I'm guessing an ETK (cluster wrecker has) is not going to work in my car as it uses an IKE ???

    Gosh... re-reading the above... shows my lack of (BMW) knowledge :(

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 58142 ROYinGA is an unknown quantity at this point ROYinGA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,633
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    IKE is the box on the back of the cluster. ETK is

    the electronic parts catalog on CDs or DVDs by BMW.
    http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...97&hg=62&fg=05

  8. #8
    GroovyDrifter from Spain
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: GroovyDrifter from Spain's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: IKE is the box on the back of the cluster. ET

    Humm... 725tds will fit on a 730d and possibly on a 740d, but i doubt it will work properly on a 740i. First, diesel's red line is at 4500 rpm and gasoline ones at 6500... More: they have "DIESEL" written on the fuel gauge. My 730d's fuel tank is 80 liter, but there are gasoline models with 95 liter ones... Can this diesel IKE be programmed for this?

    And lastly... can a used IKE be reprogrammed fo other car? my dealer said me it cannot.. And if the IKE is new... why buying a 725 tds one if the car is a 740i?



  9. #9
    nick
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: nick's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Possibly, but we may need more information...


+ Reply to Thread


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
1e2 Forum