+ Reply to Thread
    Registered Member
    Member No: 135025 norcale28 is an unknown quantity at this point norcale28's Avatar

Yes | No

having a no-start situation w/my 535is. it began

about 5-6 mos ago. it began intermittently. it would turn over but nothing else. after a few days it would start right up. i replaced the plugs and wires and it seemed to get better. not so. now it won't start at all. just turns over. i checked the #1 fuse-it's fine. switched out the main relay w/another. still nothing. i disconnected the fuel line from the fuel pressure regulator and fuel is pumping out. from reading other posts i was considering swapping out o2 sensors and the map sensor (?) i'm a wknd mechanic and don't have a real working knowledge on electrical. i can follow instructions, however. any help would be appreciated. thank you

mrmojorisin

Yes | No

Re: having a no-start situation w/my 535is. it began

no start at all as in the starter doesnt operate or it operates but engine will not crank?

ground cable and cable to starter from battery are a good cheap place to start...

Registered Member
    Member No: 135025 norcale28 is an unknown quantity at this point norcale28's Avatar

Yes | No

as i mentioned, the car will just turn over. i changed out the starter so i don't think it's the problem.

Registered Member
    Member No: 171309 gomamma is an unknown quantity at this point gomamma's Avatar

Yes | No

Nope no map sensors on this car. Check the cap and rotor especially where the rotor rides on the cap. Cap and rotors on these cars do just what your describing.

Mrmojorisin

Yes | No

Re: having a no-start situation w/my 535is. it beg

Just replaced my starter, ground cable, and battery to starter cable. And no start. Cranks great but nothing else. New proper Bosch plugs 6 months ago and I'm getting fuel too. Cap tight to rotor also as mentioned below. This is driving me nuts. Any luck yet norcale28?

Mrmojorisin

Yes | No

Swapped #2 relay and cranked right up