+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 172419 drizzt is an unknown quantity at this point drizzt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    abs/traction control

    i have a speed sensor error code present (p0500)
    is there a way to determine which wheel speed sensor is bad?


  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 150895 BigBimmer is an unknown quantity at this point BigBimmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    332
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    The DME gets speed from the right rear wheel

    Do you also have ABS, DSC, and BRAKE lights illuminated on the dash. Odds are you have a bad ABS/DSC module. There seems to be something in the water with these things. It seems like I have seen many in just the last couple weeks.

    If you want to know for sure which wheel is returning the error, you will need to get the car's diagnostics read by a BMW computer. A Peake code reader will not tell you which wheel.
    2000 E38 750iL Highline Edition with 18" Style 118 Wheels and Runflats
    MKIV and 16:9 Navigation, TV, and Backup Camera
    New Gen Radio, Sirius, Aux Input for my iPod, Bluetooth, and E39 M5 Tire Pressure Monitor System

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 172419 drizzt is an unknown quantity at this point drizzt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: The DME gets speed from the right rear wheel

    my car is a '96 with the ASC system
    ABS and ASC light are on, Brake light is not on
    i tried changing the module/pump but the system is still not working, although i did buy a used module....so i dont' know for sure that it is good
    after the ABS and ASC stopped working my check engine light also came on, i think that was triggered by the same fault

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 172419 drizzt is an unknown quantity at this point drizzt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    coding?

    if i installed a different module does it need coding?
    what does this mean?

  5. #5
    BigBimmer
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: BigBimmer's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Yes, it probably needs coding

    Coding is when the BMW diagnostics system programs modules to match your car's configuration. If you installed an ABS/ASC module from another car, it probably needs coding to function correctly in your car.

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Location
    PFLUGERVILLE, TX, United States
    Member No: 78269 claudio512 is an unknown quantity at this point claudio512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,130
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: coding?

    Well, it may need coding depends as to what was replaced specifically, or otherwise the problem is not visible because it is hidden under the wires protective shield. Perhaps, as to why replacing did not resolved anything. There are four wire with sensors, and these are found one on each wheel... picture will give you a better, and if need help contact me.









    "Keep Right, Pass Left. It's the Law."



  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Location
    Seattle, , United States
    Member No: 103216 850Girl is an unknown quantity at this point 850Girl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    378
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    How are they "Coded"? DIY or Dealer only?


  8. #8
    BigBimmer
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: BigBimmer's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Coding is a dealer-only thing

    Coding is done through BMW's proprietary diagnostics computer system. Some independent mechanics also have BMW or a compatible system.

+ Reply to Thread


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
1e2 Forum