+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 41 to 54 of 54
  1. #41
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 131820 nathan8 is an unknown quantity at this point nathan8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    184
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: INSTALL THE BULB!

    Hi Harold I'm not certain its just the bulb that needs replacing. Do you have experience of just installing a bulb and having it work? I'm hesitant to take apart something that is working, to install a bulb when it might turn out the Motronic and loom parts are also missing.

    From another bmw board

    "It is not only the missing light bulb.
    Depends on built year/month and MOTRONIC version. On the EURO version the bulb place is empty. And the wires between cluster and MOTRONIC are not there.
    Lots of discussions on the German E32 forum about this.
    For example on the MOTRONIC 3.3 it is possible to do the wiring, on the older 1.2 of the M70 EURO version it is said not to be working.
    Stomp test function was only required for U.S. specification models.
    EURO versions do not have them, also Japan spec cars do not have it."

    http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1397106



  2. #42
    Registered Member
    Location
    Dallas, TX, United States
    Member No: 167182 TxGR8White is an unknown quantity at this point TxGR8White's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    925
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Unless your car was built in 1989, the STOMP test

    will work - put the friggin bulb in!
    (If you read further down the post you linked to, you will see when this was first available).

  3. #43
    Harold
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: Harold's Avatar


    Yes | No

    It WILL work in your car.


  4. #44
    Registered Member
    Location
    Surrey, , Canada
    Member No: 111416 Walte is an unknown quantity at this point Walte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    380
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    also, just take off the rubber intake boot...

    while you are looking into the dk motors, watching the butterfly valves. have a second person turn ignition on to position 2. do both the butterfly valves move the same ?
    have them step on the gas pedal / then release the pedal, while you are watching the butterfly valves. Do both the valves open to the same distance and do they go back to where they started.(watch for opening and closing speed) shut off ignition do the butterfly valves close? if the dk's are opening and closing- i'd rule them out.
    if they are slow.. clean them (ynot posted a dk rebuild with pictures)

    The dme issue of pulling 1 fuse and the car still runs - i've seen twice in the last year. puzzled the hell out of us the first time we saw it. the guys issue was a faulty fuel pump (it would pump fuel, but couldn't keep up with the fuel demands above idle) and IT had nothing to with the dme'S. I have yet to try this on my car.
    Walt

  5. #45
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 131820 nathan8 is an unknown quantity at this point nathan8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    184
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: Unless your car was built in 1989, the STOMP test

    OK thanks I'll pop it in PRONTO!

    appreciate the kick up jacksie I needed motivating again. TA Nathan

  6. #46
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 178799 rocket.science is an unknown quantity at this point rocket.science's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    62
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: DK motors?

    did you check the engine temp sensors yet?
    they are three sensors on the back of the engine.
    they all need to finction right for the DME to send the right fuel mixture.
    than if that is checked
    look into new fuel pumps.
    maybe you like to eliminate the intank fuel pumps completely and get walbro external fuel pumps.

  7. #47
    850idontno
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 850idontno's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Fuel pump diagnosis and full test routine.

    Have you done a plug check to assure none are partly fouled,and what plugs did you use when replaced.You replaced fuel lines,go thru and retighten hose clamps.Mine leaked such small amounts there were no drips,no gas smell,but it made a differance.Don't forget the hoses in the tank on the pumps,mine was split and hard to see.Did you put gauges on to check fuel pressure ?Check the "gap" of the CPS's(may as well replace when you are there).Remove "crank vent" lines from intake and plug to make sure it not sucking unmetered air thru valves and check the rubber bends between MAF's and DK's for hairline cracks(leaks),also check the end caps on the intakes for leaks.Good luck

  8. #48
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 131820 nathan8 is an unknown quantity at this point nathan8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    184
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    CPS sensor 115 K Ohm

    Have I found it? Top left plug (CPS) is showing 115K ohm

    The other is about 580 K Ohms which I believe is the specified.

    Strange thing is that it does indeed seem to be giving 2 Volts AC when cranking.

    Have I got it guys?

    (Before anyone goes mental local dealer is ordering my CEL light!!!)

  9. #49
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 131820 nathan8 is an unknown quantity at this point nathan8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    184
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Can I swap these over to check if the fault follow

    Going to investigate with my torch (flashlight ... not oxy acetylene)

    N

  10. #50
    Registered Member
    Location
    Dallas, TX, United States
    Member No: 167182 TxGR8White is an unknown quantity at this point TxGR8White's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    925
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Just replace them both - It isn't worth the effort

    just to "try" them out...

  11. #51
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 73983 chromeowner is an unknown quantity at this point chromeowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,586
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: CPS sensor 115 K Ohm

    You have the scale on your meter on the wrong setting. Go to the link posted above and look for page 1210.6 B-6 in the diagnostic manual mentioned. This will help you keep all the various signal paths straight and greatly aid in your diagnostics. A methodical approach is MUCH easier than trying to kill all the rats at once.



    http://forums.roadfly.com/forums/bmw...9499853-1.html

  12. #52
    Mr. Mental
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: Mr. Mental's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: CPS sensor 115 K Ohm

    ok, you do know that the other CPS plug is lower right... yes?

    Very easy to confuse those connections.

  13. #53
    Harold
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: Harold's Avatar


    Yes | No

    So... what happened with this?


  14. #54
    Registered Member
    Location
    Dallas, TX, United States
    Member No: 167182 TxGR8White is an unknown quantity at this point TxGR8White's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    925
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Any resolve??? Did the car blow up? Still looking

    for answers? Let us know, we are hanging here...

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
1e2 Forum