+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 146961 z32000 is an unknown quantity at this point z32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    636
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    power top not working

    My power top doesn't seem to work anymore. Does anyone have a DIY guide on troubleshooting it?

    I checked fuse 1 and it looks fine. I don't even hear it attempting to bring it down. I've read about bad wiring and some switch...which is it more likely to be?


  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 146961 z32000 is an unknown quantity at this point z32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    636
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    could it be?

    i found a disconnected brown wire around the area of the power top pump.
    Does anyone know what this is and where it goes? Where do I begin to troubleshoot my problem?
    here

    here

    here

  3. #3
    Keith
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: Keith's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: could it be?

    If it is the micro switch it is easy to diagnose. All my guy did was use a razor blade to score the two wires in the micro switch in the top by the driver's left ear and while holding that in place across the wires, push the button and the brake. He scored it in a spot that would not be mobile so as not to cause future trouble. If the top starts working, then you need a new micro switch as the connection he made simulates the switch in a closed position.

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 146961 z32000 is an unknown quantity at this point z32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    636
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: could it be?

    so he just cut the two wires leading to the micro switch and connected them together. Then tried to operate the top.

    Before I go this far, were you at least hearing the motor attempt to put down the top when pushing the button?

  5. #5
    keith
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: keith's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: could it be?

    off and on... intermittantly

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 146961 z32000 is an unknown quantity at this point z32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    636
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: could it be?

    I don't hear anything at all

  7. #7
    st-pete-z3
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: st-pete-z3's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: could it be?

    Cut the wires and twist together and make it permanent. Take the micro switch out of any future possibility. This only prevents you from pressing the button and trying to open the top without unlatching it. If you donít unlatch and open part way you could break the cables. Just donít forget to unlatch and open. If this fixes you problem youíre done.

    If not- Then open the top, hold the button and press the clutch. Keep moving in/out the clutch and it should eventually make some noise. If you made it to this point the switch in the clutch is probably the issue anyway. But you may be able to take the switch out and short it to see for sure.

    If you donít have the cash to fix it. You could always open the trunk and manually crank it up and down.

  8. #8
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 179885 Riddick is an unknown quantity at this point Riddick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: could it be?

    Similar Problem here. But mine is intermittant.

    I haven't had the time to troubleshoot it yet. So I closed off the valve to the motor and open and close the top by hand. It goes down very easy and takes a stiff pull on the way up but until I've found the exact cause - - this works well.

    I originally thought it was the main switch. I'll have to look into the microswitch concept. Originally, I thought it was the relay(s) located on the back side of the motor. But after removing, cleaning, and reinstalling, the problem still lingers.


  9. #9
    Bad Email Address on File
    Location
    San Pedro, CA, United States
    Member No: 60022 KURTZZ3 is an unknown quantity at this point KURTZZ3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    347
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    How about this?

    Follow this link to a previous message.
    Click here

    2002 Z3 3.0i;black/black;sports package;BMW windbreaker;spoiler guard;LeatherZ armrest;Pinnacle Souveran wax;Whalen Shift Machine;Strongstrut tower brace;Alpine CDA-9847 CD;Alpine KCA-420i iPod converter;Silverstar 9006 bulb;Axxis brake pads;Stewart water pump;Zionville autosport radiator


  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 146961 z32000 is an unknown quantity at this point z32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    636
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    part number for microswitch?

    does anyone know what the part number for the microswitch?

  11. #11
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 146961 z32000 is an unknown quantity at this point z32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    636
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    error light?

    would there not be some error light indicating a brake light fault?

  12. #12
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 146961 z32000 is an unknown quantity at this point z32000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    636
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    nevermind

    nevermind, I think I found the part number...
    54348407250

    The thing is, how do I get to it? do I have to rip the top off from the inside?

  13. #13
    charleymontana
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: charleymontana's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Radio Shack

    I had the same problem a few years ago and replaced the micro switch with one from Radio Shack. Only cost $3-4.

    You do not need to take the top apart.

  14. #14
    keith
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: keith's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: could it be?

    It is easy to take off and replace. Their are two torx screws and that is all...

  15. #15
    z32000
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: z32000's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Radio Shack

    there are a few microswitches in radio shack. Which one did you get?
    http://www.radioshack.com/search/index.jsp?kwCatId=&kw=micro%20switch&origkw=micro%20switch&sr=1

    I read that it's located at the driver's side ear....but where? under the top cover? or do I have to remove some panel? Am I looking for some wires somewhere?

  16. #16
    charleymontana
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: charleymontana's Avatar


    Yes | No

    At the joint

    It was a few years ago and I don't know the number. It is located in the frame - at the first joint. You will see a curved shiny switch attached to it.


+ Reply to Thread


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
1e2 Forum