+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 73823 Nyman is an unknown quantity at this point Nyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    107
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Intake Camshaft sensor HELP

    So I got a check engine warning light. read the codes and it came out as P0012 camshaft position sensor actuator a bank timing retard. Changed the part and engine light is still on and the car runs rough on idling and weak power. Any ideas??? THANKS


  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Location
    San Mateo, CA, United States
    Member No: 24397 Dyavalon is on a distinguished road Dyavalon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,074
    Rep Power
    20


    Yes | No

    Stab in the dark, because I don't know for sure.

    Did you reset the computer?

    When installing this sensor, is there an adjustment? I would assume that there must be some sort of adjustment with it, some why to set it to zero. Maybe you just need to rotate it slightly? I also had to have mine changed, but luckily I was under warranty, unluckily now because I don't have the specific knowledge to help.

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 73823 Nyman is an unknown quantity at this point Nyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    107
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    its the VANOS...how many hrs does it take to repla

    replace? Dealer is charging me $800 in labor but their covering the cost of the part.

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Location
    middletown, RI, United States
    Member No: 55467 walterr839 is an unknown quantity at this point walterr839's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    50
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: its the VANOS...how many hrs does it take to repla

    I just went though this on a 2002 with 95000 miles. out of waranty
    the dealer covered the part and charged about 8 hours of labor plus an oil service and some gaskets.

    your quote sounds right on

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 147626 94583 is an unknown quantity at this point 94583's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: its the VANOS...how many hrs does it take to repla

    there are two cam sensors. You should always replace in pairs. And there are no adjustments.

+ Reply to Thread


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
1e2 Forum