+ Reply to Thread
    WannaM

Yes | No

How does the (anti) knock sensor work?

How does it avoid knocking? Obviously it can't do anything about the fuel mixture pre-detonating because of reaching its kindling point early, so it must control the ignition timing. Is that what it does?? And how does it calculate the load/cylinder to determine the timing retard?

Zajo

Yes | No

Re: How does the (anti) knock sensor work?

I am no expert but I think that the sensor simply detects if the mixture detonates early. Then the computer can adjust ignition timing, valve timing, and fuel mixture. These are the parameters that CAN be adjusted, but I have no idea which are the ones actually tweaked. I hope someone has more info on this topic...

One thing is for sure: this engine is happy with whatever octane you throw at it. :)

--Zajo

Karl Seeger

Yes | No

It is a simple transducer that detects a knock. When it does your timing is backed off until it does not detect it again.

If you tap on the engine with a screwdriver and monitor the timing you can "see" it happen. Pretty simple.

-Karl

WannaM

Yes | No

Really? Then under high boost, should I install

one of those "bobbing birds" on the valve cover to retard my timing? Heh

Karl Seeger

Yes | No

"knock" yourself out!

Pinecone

Yes | No

Pre - ignition and detonation are different things.

Pre-ignition comes from the fuel air mixture igniting too early. There is little thengine management can do to stop this.

Detonation occurs after ignition occurs. It can be stopped by retarding ignition, lowering boost on forced induction engines, also richening feul air mixture. With adjustable cam timing it could be controlled with cam timing changes.