+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Cliff

Yes | No

Erroneous "Check coolant level" warnings?

OK, I admit it, I'm a BMW newbie but ya gotta start somewhere. Pardon me if this is a dumb question:

I've just acquired a 2000 740 iL with 28k miles - after every engine start, the instrument cluster warning message appears "Check coolant level". Message disappears after about 15 seconds. During driving, message does not reappear and analog temperature gauge is squarely in the normal range at all times. At engine switch-off, the same "Check coolant level" message appears and then disappears after 15 seconds.

Being a particularly talented college graduate, I of course checked the coolant level. Yikes! The coolant level device is a little..............different. Pix in the manual suggest that with the cap removed, the top of the measuring stick should be level with the top of the reservoir. With the cap removed, my measuring stick is higher than the top of the reservoir by about 2". Adding a cup of coolant only makes the measuring stick ride higher (hmm, that's logical). Could it be that the warning message is appearing because the coolant level is too *high* and that I need to drain some off?

Constructive replies greatly appreciated. Minor ridicule, tinged with veiled sarcasm, of BMW newbie is permitted.

Registered Member
    Member No: 46441 sealbeach740 is an unknown quantity at this point sealbeach740's Avatar

Yes | No

FWIW, my coolant stick also pops up above

the expansion tank rim. I believe that part is normal. As for your coolant warning lite, I don't have any answer. But, welcome to the board. Enjoy your new 7!! What color is it?

<== Steptronic Sam
    2000 740iS, oxford green/tan 42k
    1995 525i, also oxford green/tan 123k

Registered Member
    Member No: 59394 davidc2 is an unknown quantity at this point davidc2's Avatar

Yes | No

Welcome!

And congrats on your new e38. I wish I had an answer for you...