+ Reply to Thread
    Endel K.

Yes | No

hard starting problem (long)

This particular vehicle is my neighbor's car I'm trying to figure out for him. I'm a SAAB master tech, but have absolutely no
    BMW experience. I need help. The car won't start when it's cold (ambient air temp: 30 F). When the car is running if you snap
    the throttle, the car stalls and doesn't always restart very well. In order to get it started I have to give it a shot of carb
    cleaner. Once it's started, it will restart fine. I replaced the intank fuel pump because it had failed. After replacement, I
    measured fuel pressure while running and it was on spec. I measured fuel volume and it is also on spec. I measured
    residual pressure when the car was shut off and it was fine. I tested the voltage and ground at the cold start injector. It turns
    on for approximately 20 seconds when you initially start cranking the car. I tested the mass air flow sensor and even
    substituted a rebuilt part, but it made no difference. I checked for any intake leaks, but found none. The car came to me after
    having the crank sensors replaced. I tried swapping the crank sensor plugs in case they were incorrect. That made no
    difference. I found that when you snap the throttle with a noid light plugged in place of one of the injectors, the light goes out
    when you snap the throttle. I also replaced the fuel filter. Any info or suggestions would be helpful.

Registered Member
    Member No: 92707 540sport is on a distinguished road 540sport's Avatar

Yes | No

What year and engine have you got there?

It sounds like you know a lot more about diagnostics than I do, but have you read the codes and do they provide any other info?