+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    yan
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: yan's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Anybody pre-wired V1 radar?


    anybody pre-wired V1 radar ala pictured here:

    http://mail.roadfly.com/e65faq/#TT12

    some questions:

    - is there enough space between rear view mirror and headliner to fit a V1? this way i can wire it into sunroof power.

    - where is best to install V1? the reason i am asking this is because the two areas recommended in the FAQ are different. the one around rear view mirror is clear while the trapezoid shaped area between two humps actually looks coated.

    if you run mount the radar low near the dash, i am thinking of running the wire into passenger side lighter (by passenger left foot). what is best technique to use to run the wire down without install looking ghetto.

    thx


  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Location
    Lafayette, CO, United States
    Member No: 81954 pan is an unknown quantity at this point pan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    481
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: connecting radar detector

    I chose to use the second power outlet in the passenger foot well to wire my V1. The
    picture on the right is my installation of the Vector 1. The wires are hidden by the area next to the windshield and dash to the passenger side. The wires are then tucked in between the dash and the roof post. The wire runs down between the door and and dash to the area under the dash to the outlet. The advantages are the wires are hidden, and there is no cutting into any electrical system. The power turns off to the outlet when the car goes to sleep and turns on as you unlock the door eliminating having to listen to the start up beeping of the radar detector.

  3. #3
    belzinga
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: belzinga's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Anybody pre-wired V1 radar?

    I had my V1 hardwired when first I bought my 2003 Li. It took two tries to get it right, because the V1 needs a full 12 volts to run properly (the first time, the electrician cut into a lead that provided less than 12, and everytime the V1 started up, it took a long time or wasn't able to get thru the complete startup initialization process when the car was switched on). The V1 is placed between the two humps and works great.

  4. #4
    BW#2 ( Happy E66 Owner )
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: BW#2 ( Happy E66 Owner  )'s Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Anybody pre-wired V1 radar?

    My car is the one with the V1 next to the mirror on the FAQ page, I also mounted the remote display in my ash tray. The Tray lid closes fine to hide the unit and the unit by the mirror stays dark, so as not to light up like a Christmas tree for all to see , especially a police car behind me .
    My local BMW dealer did the install for me; as per my direction at no charge I think at the most it would be 90 min labor. I would recommend the same.
    The unit works fine up by the mirror, good range even though 15% of the unit antenna falls outside the film cut out .

  5. #5
    yan
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: yan's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Anybody pre-wired V1 radar?


    thanks for the info. you wouldn't happen to have more detailed pictures by any chance? i am just curious about:

    - where the dealer wired the alarm itself into for power? sunroof?
    - how do you route the wire into the remote display? i am sure you dont just have it hanging across your dash.

  6. #6
    yan
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: yan's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Anybody pre-wired V1 radar?


    thanks for the info. do you have any pictures showing details? in particular i am curious how you did wire management and where did they pre-wire the alarm into for power.

  7. #7
    yan
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: yan's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: connecting radar detector


    thanks pan. that is exactly what i am thinking of doing also. my only question is - did you use any fasteners or double sided sticky tape to hold down the wire when you ran it across the dashboard to the passenger A pillar and under it?

  8. #8
    Registered Member
    Location
    Salinas, CA, United States
    Member No: 55807 rkurtl is an unknown quantity at this point rkurtl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: connecting radar detector

    I have had your setup (Valentine) since I got my 2003 754LI about 10 months ago. I thought it was working perfectly until I got a side airbag fault message. The tech couldn't find an airbag problem but noted that the car powered off completely frequently per the computer memory. I think he meant it was equivalent to turning the trunk switch off. In any case he thought the radar detector might have caused the airbag fault because the power socket stays powered and the car went into complete shutoff to save the battery. He advised that I turn off the Valentine when I park the car. It's tough to remember but I am trying. No more air bag faults (I have seen some say this a software issue). But I plan to have the dealer hardwire it next time I take it in.
    By the way, in the lower position the Valentine works great both front and rear.

  9. #9
    BW#2 ( Happy E66 Owner )
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: BW#2 ( Happy E66 Owner  )'s Avatar


    Yes | No

    Answers


    Where the dealer wired the alarm itself into for power? sunroof?

    The power is tapped into the AC outlet ( Behind it ) by the passenger foot well , it is the twin connecter that comes with the remote display kit . The wire was than run under the glove box up the window post and along the headliner. They did secure the wire by using a wire tie into the overhead light cluster, so that one tug would not pull the wire out from the headliner and the window post. But that was only to secure the wire in place all connections were made down below.

    How do you route the wire into the remote display? i am sure you donít just have it hanging across your dash?

    They ran the wire for the remote display from the behind the AC outlet to under the ashtray from within the center console. I had them cut a little hole in the ash tray bottom insert and have the remote display plug coming out of the ash tray . A small piece of Velcro is holding the remote display firmly in place into the ash tray . Its great, within 3 minutes I can unplug everything and return the car off lease . Needing only a new wire kit from V1 for my next car. Since the day I had the install done , I have only removed the main unit for security when I bring the car in for service . Everything else stays in all the time. When I park the car I close the ashtray. Thatís it.
    The AC hook up in the foot well is still intact and you cannot tell it is being tapped. The actual connector may be hidden under the glove box, with the wire splice behind the AC adapter .
    Real easy for the dealer to do ,
    Yes I am a detail freak and spent a night or two thinking about the set up prior to going to the dealer, I put everything in place and told the technician how I wanted it done. Gave him a nice $$$ tip and every thing was perfect.

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Location
    Lafayette, CO, United States
    Member No: 81954 pan is an unknown quantity at this point pan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    481
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: connecting radar detector

    The only thing I did was to tuck or wedge the wires in between surfaces such as the windshield and dash or dash and pillar. The under the dash I simply tucked the wires under the insulating material. I did not have to remove or add anything other than to plug the V1 in the accessory socket.

  11. #11
    Registered Member
    Location
    Lafayette, CO, United States
    Member No: 81954 pan is an unknown quantity at this point pan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    481
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: connecting radar detector

    The accessory socket powers of after 15 minutes and turns on when you open the door or unlock the car through the remote.

  12. #12
    Registered Member
    Location
    Lafayette, CO, United States
    Member No: 81954 pan is an unknown quantity at this point pan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    481
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: bw#2 question

    Originally I had wanted to mount the V1 high to take advantage of earlier notification. I rejected the location because I could no longer adjust the mirror the way I wanted it. How did your dealer solve that problem?

    The lower dash location, the one I chose has to be located fairly precisely located behind the trapezoid opening in the windshield metal film. Once that is done it seem to work well with signal from all directions so I probably wouldn't change it. At least for the last year I have not had a problem.

  13. #13
    yan (another detail freak)
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: yan (another detail freak)'s Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Answers


    thanks for the detailed responce. i am also a detail freak and i can appreciate the coolness of your desing. but having never used V1, two questions about remote unit itself:

    - having it in the ashtray and not having it in your the line of sight affects your ability to see alerts in any way? i usually listen to the music pretty loud, so audio alerts i might not hear

    - why get a remote unit at all? if cops see it driving behind you, who cares (radar detectors are not illegal) and if they pull you over, they will see the main unit anyways

    also, pan already asked you this, but i am also curious how you got the unit to fit between the mirror and headliner. the space is pretty tight up there.

    thx again!

  14. #14
    BW#2
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: BW#2's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Pan &Yan

    It fits nice and sung, using the suction cup mount to the rear of the unit right below the headliner . The unit actually rests on the rear view mirror its self for added support . Just as in the photo on the FAQ . Play with it up there, you ll get it.

    Yan , I also play my logic 7 on 10/10ths most of the time . Two thoughts,
    At night in a dark car, you will know when it lights. In regard to hiding it , I just like the whole stealth idea . And why rub it in a trooperís face, sometimes that makes all the difference. Donít give a reason to get pulled over, this is the first car I did not tint the windows after 6 cars. For that reason, or maybe I ma just getting old ( 38) . Many times I am out with friends or the wife for diner and drinks, why risk exposure to a DWI .
    2nd , its not all the time that you are hard running 90+mph , when I am in the day time . I know the risky areaís ( hideouts ) and the clean sprint areas . I just keep more aware and glance down often when in a danger zone or an unknown area.

  15. #15
    yan
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: yan's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: pan - my V1 is in


    pan, the V1 i just got is smaller in size compared to the one my friend has. i think she got hers a year or two ago. so maybe you got an older V1? when i get my 7er from service i am going to try to fit mine up above the rear view mirror

  16. #16
    yan
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: yan's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Pan & BW2


    so i just got my V1 and put it into 5er (a loaner) and drove around town for an hour or two. let me see if i got this right: V1 (or any other radar for that matter) is useless around town. right?

  17. #17
    Registered Member
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: 134814 Tuck is an unknown quantity at this point Tuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: connecting radar detector

    The links don't work anymore... Does anyone have a pointer to the pics?

    I'd really like to wire up an Escort 9500ci, but I'm not sure how to get the wires from the front bumper and license plate through the firewall into the cabin.. any thoughts/suggestions??

  18. #18
    Geez Tech
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: Geez Tech's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Doubt it, 8 year old post


+ Reply to Thread


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
1e2 Forum