+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia, , Canada
    Member No: 118242 robinson.de is an unknown quantity at this point robinson.de's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Day Time Running Lights Confusion

    I just found out from a BMW dealer that they can "metricize" my made in US 98 Z3 2.8 by reprogramming it. I have been previously told that I will need to replace a module with a new one ($200). Can anyone tell me which way to go? Has anyone done this to a Z3 before?Dave


  2. #2
    Icabob
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: Icabob's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Try the Z3 board,they should be able to help...

    Or see if "knows",knows...lol.He works for bavaria,and seems to be switched on about stuff regarding bimmers.There's a free plug for ya "knows"...lol.

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia, , Canada
    Member No: 118242 robinson.de is an unknown quantity at this point robinson.de's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Hey "Knows", can you help?


  4. #4
    knows
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: knows's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Hey

    Because the instrument cluster already has both KM and MPH on it, only the instrument cluster coding plug needs to be replaced and then the instrument cluster can be recoded. The current odometer reading in miles will be automatically converted to the equivalent amount in KM's. I believe this can only be done at a BMW Dealership, because of the equipment required. You could also purchase a "Canadian" instrument cluster and have it installed if you did not want the dual speed scale. However if you buy used it MUST have lower KM, than your car currently has.

  5. #5
    Shayne
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: Shayne's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: Day Time Running Lights Confusion

    On most OBD II cars they can hook the into the diagnosics port and change parameters such as enable DRL's... they are not allowed to disable this feature in Canada. They can also remove such 'benefits' as the automatic door locking 'feature'.

    Shayne
    525iTA

  6. #6
    Registered Member
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia, , Canada
    Member No: 118242 robinson.de is an unknown quantity at this point robinson.de's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    But how about DRL's

    Can they reprogram it so that the DRL's are activated? Or do I need to buy a DRL Module and replace the old high beem module?

  7. #7
    knows
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: knows's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: But how about DRL's

    The Z3 is based on E36 technology and can not be just reprogramed. Simply replacing the relay also does not work. We have in the past wired in a Daytime running light relay, which would then have the 'highbeams' on at part power.

  8. #8
    robinson.de
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: robinson.de's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: But how about DRL's

    Now you have me really confused. Are you sure that when i just replace the relay, it will not do the trick? LeatherZ will sell me the relay with installation instructions and says that's all there is to it. The way this works, is that it has the high beams on at 80% power. Is there anything more required?

  9. #9
    knows
    Guest
    Location
    , ,
    Member No: knows's Avatar


    Yes | No

    Re: But how about DRL's

    I do not know anything about the 'kit' they sell. However if it comes with 'installation instructions', there is proably more to it than just plugging in a new relay. Can the car be converted to have daytime running lights - the answer is yes, is there more than one way - proably.

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Location
    Montréal, QC, Canada
    Member No: 114606 droz3 is an unknown quantity at this point droz3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    241
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    Re: But how about DRL's

    I installed the LeatherZ DRL module 6 months ago. It works.
    Installation instruction are needed because you need to remove the knee bolster trim and the knee bolster in order to replace the "non DRL module" (standard US module) with the DRL module.
    Simple as pie : pull The old one out and plug the new one in.
    Instructions are available on this link : http://www.leatherz.com/instructions/drl.pdf
    Maybe on other BMW model, the DRL function can be activated by reprogramming the car computer but this is not the case with a Z3.
    If you ever get your Canadian dealership to activate the DRL by only using programmation then please tell us, after the fact, because it will mean that lots of us have been screwed and I don't believe it is the case.
    So far everyone had to use the DRL module.
    My Z3 specifications :
    Z3 2001 3.0L roadster with Stong-Strut front+rear+body+aero duct/Michelin PS2/HardTop/K&N air filter/Jim Conforti Shark/PIA low+high+fog/LeatherZ Mark1 armrest/front spoiler protector/trunk organizer

  11. #11
    Registered Member
    Location
    Bedford, Nova Scotia, , Canada
    Member No: 118242 robinson.de is an unknown quantity at this point robinson.de's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    32
    Rep Power
    0


    Yes | No

    That's What I Thought

    Thanks droz3. That confirms everything that I thought. In fact I just bought the module over ebay from "genuinebmwparts" thanks to a tip from the Z3 Message Board. Hopefully, I will be installing it in a few weeks. Dave ... waiting patiently in NS ... I hate snow!

+ Reply to Thread


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
1e2 Forum